The process of creation

As I have mentioned in a previous post, I have fallen in love with the bead crochet technique. It’s a great way to make bracelets and necklaces with tiny seed beads in a variety of colors and patterns. I’m only limited by my imagination in terms of what I can create.

Peach, Ivory, and gray bead crochet

The necklace above was made using gray, peach, and  ivory beads in size 8/0. I think the combination came out great. Originally, when I combined the beads together, I had also included red and white beads but it just didn’t look right. The white and red beads were too loud and they took away from the other beads. So I undid the piece, removed the read and white beads (very tedious process), and started again. Sometimes less is more and these three colors harmonized better than five colors.

When I finished crocheting the beads together, I didn’t know how to end the piece. It actually sat around for a week before I figured out what to do. I could have added end caps and a clasp, but for some reason that didn’t seem to work. I just happen to have some swarovski crystal beads in rose, I don’t even remember why I bought them. I added the crystals beads to the ends and then decided to do a herringbone stitch to wrap the crystals with the beads, next came the clasp and extended chain with another crystal to finish the necklace. I was very happy with the end results.

Creating jewelry is very visceral for me. Combining beads or finishing pieces is based on my gut reaction. A piece will sit around for weeks until something clicks and I can finish the piece. The logical scientist in me gets frustrated when pieces remain unfinished for weeks but the artist in me will not budge until the right idea comes along.  Does this happen to you? Do you have to wait around sometimes for inspiration to strike?

Leave a Reply

